Learning to Receive

Lately, I have been on a quest to discover what authentic feminine energy is, and this is harder than I expected. I found a lot of advice about how to dress more femininely, or how to use some feminine wiles to get a man, but I don’t think that is what I was looking for. 

One piece of dating advice that I do believe is important, is that “alpha” women should learn how to receive from a man, not just give or take. Feminine energy has been described as receptive, so this is something I am trying to practice. Some examples of receiving that can be practiced include accepting a compliment (no modesty needed), fully following a plan not laid out by yourself, allowing acts of chivalry (women are partly to blame for its near death) and waiting for him to ask you out (what’s your hurry?).

Since I am trying to live what I am learning, not just write about it, I am trying this out too! I do not want to be considered insane, for persisting to use masculine energy to “chase” men, while expecting them to also chase me. We both cannot do that and get together; we would just be running around the mulberry bush!

Right now, I am trying to wait for the men who said they were interested in me to remember I am back in NYC from a week away and contact me themselves! This is very, very hard for me to do! I was ready to make a plan last week with one of them so we could get together this week and…boy, do I sound impatient! There is no urgency, no rush. I have never paid attention to the fragility of a not-yet-started relationship; my passion (and desperation?) demanded something happen as soon as possible, now if possible. I have to stop that.

Yesterday, I told myself that I would give him (the one I am most interested in seeing) until Wednesday, then I would contact him myself, but today, I am telling myself to keep waiting. Try it! Let go of the attachment you already have to the outcome of this encounter and just live life as you would without men in your life. Remember, Self, you have dance tomorrow and philosophy class on Thursday, so this will be easier when you are actually busy. Tonight, write some more, work on that project you keep neglecting…let’s try to embody femininity tonight! Remember, what you put your attention to grows…

Your thoughts?

